

The Tammy Dawe Advocate Award

The Tammy Dawe Advocate Award – is to recognize an APBA member who has made an outstanding contribution to our sport of boat racing. This award is named in honor of Tammy Dawe who gave her life to our sport and made it better through each person she touched.

Tammy Dawe Advocate Award Criteria - This award may be presented at the APBA Annual Meeting by the Stock Outboard Racing Commission and can only be awarded once to an individual. This award will be based on the following criteria and point system. A nominee must have a minimum of forty five points before he/she will be considered for this award. At the time of Tammy's passing she had already accumulated the minimum at a very young age. Nominations can come from any past or present member. The nominations should include the nominee's history (past & present) with APBA, highlighting the following criteria.

Advocate for Stock outboard.	
(Examples: Promotes racing, put drivers in equipment, builds equipment for free or at little cost, put on driver schools, etc.	
Stock Outboard Category Chairman	15 points
Race Official	.10 points
National Officer	5 points
Stock Outboard Racing Commission Member	5 points
Council Member	5 points
Region Chairman. Region Officer.	5 points
Region Officer	5 points
Club Officer	
Honor Squadron	
Has been an APBA member for over 25 years	5 points
Accumulated 25 or more points by earning 1 point for each year of service for any of the items listed above	5 points
Example: been on SORC 12 years = 12 points, race official 8 years = 8 points, region officer = 6 years, totaling 26 points s	o the individual will
have more than 25 points, therefore eligible for the 5 points.	

☐ Each year the SORC Chairman will pick a committee of three from the membership to establish the Tammy Dawe Advocate
Award Committee. This committee will be announced like all other committees at the National Meeting for the upcoming year.
☐ On an annual basis, the SORC may elect one individual for the award.
☐ The committee will choose up to three individuals eligible for that year's award and submit them to the SORC Chairman. The
three they recommend to the SORC do not have to be the top point earners; they just have to be eligible with over 45 points. The
recipient will then be chosen by a majority vote of the SORC via email.
□ Nominations must arrive in any manner to the SORC Chairman no later than July 1 st.
☐ The committee will review nominations & submit to the Chairman up to three individuals that they have chosen by July 31st.
☐ If there are no nominations for the year, the committee may nominate an individual on their own. The committee does not have
to present the award every year if there is not a suitable candidate.

<u>Inductees</u>

2012	Ernie Dawe	Indio, CA
2013	Steve Warnock	Pewaukee, WI
2014	Edward Hearn	Valparaiso, IN
2015	Steve Noury	East Hampstead, NH
2016	Tom Johnston	Britton, MI
2017	Jeff Brewster	Ravenna, OH
2018	Bill Pavlick III	Aurora, IL
2019	Jean Mackay-Schwartz	San Leandro, CA